I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard someone ask the question, “How many words are in a book“. Here is what I’ve been able to find out with a little bit of Googlized research. 10,000 to 50,000 words is a novella. These are your typical $.99 type books. 50,000 to 150,000 words are in your standard book and tend to do best around the $1.99 to $4.99 price range. Anything more than 150,000 words is considered epic and can limit your readership. I personally love to get lost in a great book but some people just don’t want a really long read so keep that in mind. But just to be clear this doesn’t mean you shouldn’t publish an epic novel, Twilight was considered “epic” in terms of how many words it had. So it can be a success.

So instead of asking yourself, is my book to long or is my book to short, focus instead on the overall story. Don’t worry if you are writing to much or not enough. Worry if what you are saying will entertain and delight your readers because in the end that is really all that matters.

